Small Business Owner Spotlights

We are so proud to have these passionate, creative, community-focused, and incredibly giving Canadian small business owners in our growing network.
Check out their stories and support them by visiting their websites and social media pages.    
Maxine Druker | Co-Proprietor, Lemongrass House Canada 

 

Maxine Druker and her partner Ben Horne founded Lemongrass House Canada in 2016. Ben had discovered Lemongrass House products when he was living in Thailand in 2009. He introduced the product line to Maxine and together they realized that the brand’s commitment to natural, handcrafted, ethically sourced care products would be a perfect fit for the Vancouver lifestyle. Over the last three years, they have built the brand’s reputation and have been supplying their products to leading spas and hotels across Canada. 

Ben and Maxine opened Lemongrass House Canada’s flagship store in Vancouver’s historic Gastown district and everyone who comes in is greeted with a huge smile. Maxine loves to talk about the benefits of all of the organization’s all-natural, cruelty-free products with her customers.

When you speak with Maxine, her passion for a natural and ethical lifestyle and her integrity always shine through. Lemongrass House recently began a campaign called Buy One, Gift One that provides care packages for frontline workers around British Columbia. 

Maxine tells BudgieBox, “Whether it’s hand cream to help heal their hands from all of the handwashing, or bath oil to help them relax and to soothe their aching muscles after a long shift, we hope that by gifting these products, our health care workers will feel the love.” She added: “We owe a huge debt of gratitude to those who are on the front lines, working to save lives — and risking their own health to do it. This is just a small token of our huge appreciation for them.”

Any purchase from Lemongrass House’s select products — currently available at a 15% discount — are matched and gifted to a health care worker.

For more information about Maxine and the wonderful Lemongrass House Canada products, please visit: www.lemongrasshousecanada.com or on social at: @lemongrassca.

 
Seana Uong | Founder/Director, More Than Just Soups 

 

“Honestly, as a wife and mom of 4 beautiful, busy kids, I never dreamed I’d start my own business. Crisis created a need and I ran with it.” Seana tells BudgieBox.

“My husband’s employer was closing their doors at the end of June, 2018. He was given 7 agonizing months' notice. We were in shock, scared, and at a loss. My husband was fast approaching 50 and had to start all over after 26 years in his industry.

With his support, overnight I took my hobby of making cookie mixes for friends and teachers to a full time, year-round business. I added soup mixes and registered for winter markets. In the new year, I added more products, promoted for every celebrated occasion including Valentine’s and St. Patrick’s Day.

After 4 months in business, my Easter Egg Mini Cookie Mixes put me on the map. I sold 10 dozen for the Easter holidays! I was so amazed and energized, hungry to see more results. Next came Mother’s and Father’s days, year-end teacher gifts and I’ve continued to grow each season.

I’m humbled to be in business for myself today. It’s overwhelming at times, especially as a full-time mom; but there’s only one direction to go — forwards!”

For more information about Seana and her delicious products, please visit: www.seanasdelectables.com or on social: @facebook.com/seanasmasonjardelectables  @instagram.com/morethanjustsoups 
 

Nelia & Lilia | Founders, SOULdiers 

Based in Vancouver, SOULdiers was born from best friends Nelia and Lilia with the mission to promote self-care & self-love against anxiety and depression and to make a positive impact on the country at large.  

Each of their seriously beautiful products (that include hand-poured candles, naturally-uplifting teas, & stress-relieving bath salts) promotes peace for the mind, body, & soul.

Helping those struggling with anxiety and depression is the passion and the mission behind each product. "Promoting mental health awareness is so important to me because I have walked the path and I have hopes to help pave the road for people who struggle with anxiety and depression" Lilia shared with us. 

Nelia and Lilia donate 5% of all proceeds for SOULdiers to The Crisis Intervention and Suicide Prevention Centre of British Columbia to aide with their youth chat line and crisis chat line.  

Learn more about Nelia and Lilia's incredible stories and their SOULdiers products on their website or social: @soul-diers

Come back soon for more stories. In the mean time, check out the Canadian small businesses featured inside by visiting their website and social media pages:

Website Social
Artisan Bake Shoppe artiisanbakeshoppe.wordpress.com
@artisan.bake.shoppe
Bad Dog Bakery baddogbread.com @baddogbreadnv
Batard Bakery batardbakery.com/ @batardbakery
bentons cheese bentonscheese.com @bentonscheese
Bred by Ed edsbred.com @edsbred
Cake and Giraffe tcandtg.com @cakeandgiraffe
Coastie Craft coastiecraftburgers.ca @coastiecraft
Coconama coconama.com @coconama_choco
Daiya Foods daiyafoods.com @daiyafoods
Eves Crackers evescrackers.com @evescrackers
Fraser Valley Gourmet fraservalleygourmet.com
@fraservalleygourmet
Hardbite hardbitechips.com @hardbitechips
Hornby Organic hornbyorganic.com @hornbyorganic
inkwell cards inkwellcards.com @inkwell_cards
jonny hetherington jonnyhetheringtonessentials.com @jhessentials
justea justea.com @justeakenya
kc pepper jelly kcpepperjelly.com @kcpepperjelly
kozlics kozlics.com @kozlicsmustard
Lavish Liquid lavishliquid.com @lavishliquid
Lesley Stowe lesleystowe.com @lesleystowe
Mad Hippie madhippie.com
@madhippieskinproducts
Milk Jar Candle Co milkjar.ca @milkjarcandleco
Moja mojacoffee.com @mojacoffee
Nayelle nayelle.com @nayelleskincare
Noble Candles noblecandles.com @noblecandles
Noble Jerkey noblejerkey.com @noblejerkey
Nufs Bites nufs.ca @nufs_bites
Organic Fair organicfair.com @organicfair
Oyama Sausage Co. oyamasausage.ca @oyamasausage
Pink Ribbon Bakery pinkribbonbakery.ca @pinkribbonbakery
Saltspring Harvest saltspringharvest.com @saltspringharvest
spread em kitchen co spreademkitchen.com @spreadem_kitchen
Sunflower Florist sunflowerflorist.ca @vancouverflorist
SurfSoak surfsoak.com @surfsoak
Tall Tree talltreebakery.com @talltreebakery
Temper Chocolate & Pastry temperpastry.com/ @temperpastry
Trevor Bird Jam trevorbird.ca @cheftrevorbird
Vitruvi vitruvi.ca @vitruvi
Walter waltercaesar.com @waltercaesar
WithinUs withinus.ca @withinusnatural
Zimt zimtchocolates.com @zimtchocolates